Living Fossils

August 21, 2009 § 4 Comments

cycasrevolta©dstocks61

Sotetsu

Print size 10 x 7 1/2 in.

cycasrevolta36©dstocks

Cycas Revoluta

Print size 10 x 7 1/2 in.

cycasrevolta86©d.stocks

相鉄

Print size 10 x 7 1/2 in.

cycasrevolta©dstocks9-copy

Sago Palm

These four images were made between ’04 and ’07. The Sago I shoot is probably one of the oldest in the United States, at over 9 feet tall it is an extremely large example. I have not been able to find out when it was planted.

Around since the Cenozoic, Sotetsu as it’s named in it’s native Japan, is one of the oldest known organisms on earth. To look at it grow here, brings to mind the breadth of time and the strange wonder of all the plants that lived then-  yet,  didn’t make it to our era.

Print size 10 x 7 1/2 in.

§ 4 Responses to Living Fossils

  • guardadocumentos says:

    That is amazing .

  • matthew says:

    hello doug,matt here,very cool website,email me when you can,matt

  • Guichun says:

    Hi, Doug. Thank you so much for letting me know the Sago Palm at SCU. It was so lucky to meet you yesterday. I’ll go and get some more photos of it.
    I’ve also seen your pictures on “www.dougstocksphotos.com”, they are awesome!!!

    • dougstocks says:

      Hi, back ‘atcha Guichun, I am sorry to have been in such a rush, train to catch. I’m glad you like Dougstocksphotos.com I do too, funny story about that. When I put this blog up I googled my name and “photography” I there I was. I clicked on the google link and it was Doug Stocks alright BUT IN ALABAMA ! Ha HA. So on a lark I emailed
      him there and we have now exchanged pleasantries. Isn’t that a kick? :) The name Stocks is not that common, so it makes it all the more fun. See ya round. Hope to see some of your photographs.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Living Fossils at Doug Stocks Photography.

meta

